God’s Laws

The Ten Commandments, or Decalogue, is a list of way of life imperatives that were spoken by God to the people of Israel from the mountain referred to as “Mount Sinai” or “Horeb”, and later authored by God and given to Moses in the form of two stone tablets.

The Commandments can be seen throughout the Bible, (Exodus 20:2–17 , Deuteronomy 5:6–21, Exodus 34:11–27), however, simply put, here are the laws of the Almighty God. They are still relevant for today, as Jesus said “Do not think that I came to abolish the Law or the Prophets; I did not come to abolish but to fulfill. For truly I say to you, until heaven and earth pass away, not the smallest letter or stroke shall pass from the Law until all is accomplished” – Matthew 5:17

  1. I am the Lord your God, you shall have no other gods before me
  2. You shall not make for yourself an idol
  3. You shall not make wrongful use of the name of your God
  4. Remember the Sabbath and keep it holy
  5. Honour your father and mother
  6. You shall not murder
  7. You shall not commit adultery
  8. You shall not steal
  9. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbour
  10. You shall not covet your neighbor’s wife, you shall not covet anything that belongs to your neighbour.

The Lord our God, blessed be His holy name, also commands that we love our neighbours as we love our selves! It is the duty of a Christian to love all, friends and enemies alike. (Mark 12:31)
Praise the Lord we see the light!

Leave a Reply